National Service Scheme

The West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education has introduced National Service Scheme at the +2 level. The motto or watchword of the National Service Scheme is ‘NOT ME BUT YOU’. This reflects the essence of democratic living and upholds the need for selfless service and appreciation of the other person’s point of view and also to show consideration for fellow human beings.

The response of the NSS Volunteers at the +2 level has been very encouraging. Higher Secondary Institutions willing to join the scheme may apply to the Council with a list of one hundred intending students reading in class XI and also with the name of a teacher who will work as Programme Officer. For the subsequent expansion of the NSS unit in the school additional 50 student volunteers would be required.

The Institutions having an NSS Unit should participate in all the regular and special programmes as specified in the NSS Manual (Revised) 2006.

While submitting the reports of all kinds of programmes as per the NSS manual the planning calendar should be strictly followed. The report should include the detailed expenditure towards such programmes.

19 districts are divided into 7 Zones (1) Kolkata Zone – Kolkata, 24 Parganas (North), & 24 Parganas (South), (2) Purba Midnapur Zone – Purba Midnapur, (3) Paschim Midnapur Zone – Paschim Midnapur, Bankura, Purulia (4) Burdwan Zone – Howrah, Hooghly, Burdwan. (5) Murshidabad Zone – Nadia, Murshidabad, Birbhum, Malda. (6) Darjeeling Zone – Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur, Darjeeling. (7) Jalpaiguri Zone – Jalpaiguri, Coochbehar.


Highlights of N.S.S. Activities in W.B.C.H.S.E. during 2021-22

Allocated strength of N.S.S. volunteers
The actual number of volunteers
The number of H.S. schools having N.S.S.
Total number of N.S.S. units
Participation in National Integration Camps
Advisory Committee Meeting
Workshop / Seminar/ Meeting
Blood Donation Camp


District Wise Schools with NSS Units

NSS – Hooghly

NSS – Uttar Dinajpur

NSS – South 24 Parganas

NSS – Purulia

NSS – Purba Midnapur

NSS – Paschim Midnapur

NSS – North 24 Parganas

NSS – Nadia

NSS – Murshidabad

NSS – Malda

NSS – Kolkata

NSS – Jalpaiguri

NSS – Howrah

NSS – Darjeeling

NSS – Dakshin Dinajpur

NSS – Coochbehar

NSS – Burdwan

NSS – Birbhum

NSS – Bankura